top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

#throwback to Afro Vibes in Amsterdam

Updated: Oct 2, 2023

Allow me one last throwback, please?! I am doing a thing... read about it here.


This time I take you all the way back to 2013 to the Netherlands; Amsterdam and Rotterdam. This was my very first international performance and I had the pleasure of collaborating with the outstanding Dutch poet Babs Gons. We worked on our theatre-leaning performance for weeks; we worked virtually for the first few weeks and then had a week together in Amsterdam to bring everything together. As I am writing this, I am realising that this very first cross-country/cultures/poetics was the foundation for so many other ideas, including this one with Scottish poet, Iona Lee.


Our performance piece was called Becoming Another Becoming You. It explored ideas around how it feels to be someone else, to crawl into their skin and retell their story. This resulted in a really powerful showcase, illuminating our differences and our similarities; an experience I am forever grateful for.











26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page